Ringo’s Christmas album returns

Ringo’s 1999 Christmas album 

Looks like someone is in Christmas spirits, because September 22 Ringo Starr’s album “I Wanna Be Santa Claus” (or the Santa Claus album, “I Wanna Be Ringo Starr”) was released on vinyl by Mercury Records. We heartily recommend this album! After this album, Starr was to leave Mercury after they had done no promotion for it, which in turn resulted in little sales.

This is the first vinyl edition of the album, as it was originally only available on CD and cassette.

  1. “Come On Christmas, Christmas Come On” (Richard Starkey, Mark Hudson, Dean Grakal) – 3:36
  2. “Winter Wonderland” (Felix Bernard, Richard B. Smith) – 2:55
  3. “I Wanna Be Santa Claus” (Starkey, Hudson, Dick Monda) – 3:46
    • features Timothy B. Schmit on backing vocals
  4. “The Little Drummer Boy” (Harry Simeone, Henry Onorati, Katherine K. Davis) – 3:19
    • features Timothy B. Schmit on backing vocals
  5. “Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer” (Johnny Marks) – 2:21
  6. “Christmas Eve” (Starkey, Hudson) – 4:26
  7. “The Christmas Dance” (Starkey, Hudson, Jim Cox, Steve Dudas) – 4:06
    • followed by studio chatter in between this and the following track
  8. “Christmas Time (Is Here Again)” (George Harrison, John Lennon, Paul McCartney, Richard Starkey) – 4:06
    • originally recorded by The Beatles in 1967 for their annual Christmas record for members of their fan club
    • features Joe Perry on guitar solo
  9. “Blue Christmas” (Bill Hayes, Jay Johnson) – 2:58
  10. “Dear Santa” (Starkey, Hudson, Dudas) – 5:12
  11. “White Christmas” (Irving Berlin) – 2:56
    • features Timothy B. Schmit on backing vocals
    • followed by a short violin piece in between this and the following track
  12. “Pax Um Biscum (Peace Be with You)” (Starkey, Hudson, Scott Gordon) – 4:46

1 Response

  1. Geert says:

    welcome re-release!

Leave a Reply