Beatles/Orbison tour recording

Someone claims to have made an audio recording of songs from the Roy Orbison and Beatles concerts that took place in Walthamstow on May 24th, 1963. And he still has the tape.

He posted an email to a mailing list for Beatles collectors, asking for advice on how to get a good price for the tape.

This is the first time we’ve heard of anyone having a recorded portion of a concert from the Beatles/Roy Orbison tour, and people are sceptic about the authenticity of the samples he provided.

The would-be-seller says it’s a 15 minute 3″ reel-to-reel tape, containing:

Roy Orbison – “Runnin’ Scared”, “In Dreams”.

The Beatles – “Some Other Guy”, “Thank You Girl”, “Please Please Me”, “I Saw Her Standing There”, “From Me To You”.

“Thank You Girl” was a rare song to have heard in concert, because it was only featured a few times.


30 second clip: Please Please Me

30 second clip: Some Other Guy

You may also like...

5 Responses

  1. Michael Hockinson says:


    The link for "Some Other Guy" appears to be broken – can you repost? Thanks!

  2. macho says:

    "Some Other Guy" –

  3. Michael Hockinson says:

    Thanks, Macho!

  4. macho says:

    I thing about "Thank You Girl" 'cos Beatles didn't play this song on Orbison's Tour. This setlist could be from Chester (May 15) or Great Yarmouth (June 30) but if we also have recordings of Roy, prabably somebody make mistake with songs titles (the man who recorded show or beatles biographers). Time alone will tell.

  5. wogew says:

    You are basing your view on the tour set list provided by Lewisohn in "The Beatles Live" and it's successor "The Complete Beatles Chronicles". He may have published his set list from only one concert. The 2011 book "Beatlemania! The Real Story of The Beatles UK Tours 1963 – 1965" by Martin Creasy delves deeper into the Beatles/Orbison tour set lists.

    The tour did start out in Slough with the following set list :

    "Some Other Guy", "Do You Want To Know A Secret", "Love Me Do", "From Me To You", "Please Please Me", "I Saw Her Standing There", and "Twist And Shout".

    In Southampton they opened with "Some Other Guy". They didn't do an encore.

    In Nottingham on 23 May they opened with "I Saw Her Standing There" as they also did in Sheffield on May 25. They also did "Please Please Me" and finished with "From Me To You".

    By the Liverpool and Cardiff Shows on 26/27th the Beatles were now headlining and with the extra time allowed on stage again added "Some Other Guy" to the six songs on their tour set list (suggesting "Some Other Guy" had been dropped at some point – probably when ISHST became the show opener).

    In York they sang "Some Other Guy", "Do You Want To Know A Secret" and "From Me To You".

    In Southend on Friday 31 May – "Thank You Girl", "Please Please Me", and "From Me To You" provided the centrepiece to another tuneful harmonic set. So "Thank You Girl" wasn't on their original set list for the tour but their heightened status left them more time on stage if they wanted it.

Leave a Reply