Shaved Fish for vinyl re-release

A strange re-release on vinyl: John Lennon’s hit collection “Shaved Fish” is due out in the UK on July 7.

For some reason, John Lennon’s collection of songs, “Shaved Fish”
is due out on vinyl in the UK on July 7th, according to Amazon in the UK.

It’s a strange choice, because since the original’s release in 1975, other collections of Lennon’s songs, such as The John Lennon Collection (1982), Lennon Legend (1997), Working Class Hero (2005) and Power To The People – The Hits (2010) have all far surpassed the this album by including more songs.

“Shaved Fish” was Lennon’s final release on Apple Records, released in the UK on 24 October 1975, peaking at number 8 and number 12 in the USA. The album contains all of the singles that he had issued up to that point in the United States as a solo artist, with the exception of “Stand by Me”, which had been released earlier that year.

The only compilation of his non-Beatles recordings released during his lifetime, it was a commercial success, ultimately becoming one of the world’s first platinum albums.

Track list:

Side 1:

  1. Give Peace a Chance 
  2. Cold Turkey
  3. Instant Karma! (We All Shine On)
  4. Power to the People
  5. Mother
  6. Woman Is the Nigger of the World

Side 2:

  1. Imagine
  2. Whatever Gets You Thru the Night
  3. Mind Games
  4. #9 Dream
  5. Happy Xmas (War Is Over)/Give Peace a Chance (Reprise)

4 Responses

  1. vagma says:

    The version of "Give Peace a Chance" included on this LP is a shortened version, it is much shorter than the real thing.

  2. Foxx says:

    And Happy Xmas is cross-faded with a snippet of live Give Peace A Chance. (Other performance than on Live in New York City)

    I like the idea that this was the compilation that John put effort in to make it right, making sure that the right tapes were used etc., because 'nobody else really cared', as he told in his interview with Andy Peebles, in 1980.

  3. wogew says:

    Available on Capitol in the USA on July 15, 2014 and Germany Universal Music/EMI from July 4th, 2014.

  4. wogew says:

    USA release preorder

Leave a Reply