McCartney & McCartney II: It’s official

6 Responses

  1. wardo says:

    I'm just a tad disappointed by this. I bought the Deluxe (2CD-1DVD) Band On The Run because it was about $25. I passed on the Super Deluxe because I already had the bonus disc from the 25th Anniversary Edition. It looks like the "cheaper" versions of these will only have the 2 CDs, and they'll hardly be full to maximum.

  2. Sergio Taraddei says:

    Hi Wogew!What do you think about the stuff of these remastered album?
    I am a little bit disappointed.
    No alternate tracks for the first album 🙁 Is so strange..
    Is a Macca choose or dont exist nothing about Mccartney sessions?
    What's your opinion?

  3. wogew says:

    "Suicide" in full and "Don't Cry Baby" should be fun to hear from McCartney, "Women Kind" (Demo), I believe I've heard before. All in all I'm actually quite pleased with the extra material, and that we'll get bits off the Kampuchea film as a proper release. They seem to have learned the lesson from "Band On The Run" about reserving the DVD for the most expensive edition, so this time I'll have to shell out. Unless someone decides to buy them for me.. 😉

  4. Sergio Taraddei says:

    Yes "Woman kind" is on the bootleg "Piano tape", just instrumental, on remastered I hope will be with lyrics 🙂

  5. Brian Fried says:

    Totally surprised about the absence of "Maybe I'm Amazed (take one)", which has been rumoured on EVERY anthology of Paul's 1970-1980 output.

    Also disappointed about the inclusion of the 1979 live recordings. What, was 1973's Hague show missing? What about doing a version of "Maybe I'm Amazed" with Linda sitting next to him rather than with the standard band setup?

    But I'm a lot more disappointed with McCartney II. Yes, I know he erased leftovers as he went, but the leftover tracks are merged and there's a few other neat outtakes out there — plus the fact that while this album was made prior to 1979's tour, the last Wings cuts ("Robber's Ball" etc.) are now stuck on either an overloaded Back To The Egg or Tug Of War.

    (And by overloaded, I mean that we'll get live recordings on Back To The Egg and "Cage," leaving not much room, while Tug Of War gets a bunch of demos.)

  6. Anonymous says:

    Women Kind has lyrics on the late '73 Piano boot version.

    He's obviously holding back the good stuff for the future box set or Cloud. He's got to hold something back to lure the fans in the future to buy something.

    McCartney II deluxe is everything you could've hoped for. Every outtake from those sessions will be released and the only thing getting held back will be the alternate mixes and versions like the original 10 minute "Darkroom".

    Only two songs look to be merged since Horseriders and Blue Sway have always segued together.

    Remember, Paul wasn't including any of those 5 unreleased songs on the tracklistings for the proposed boxset so it's great to get them here.

    And there are alternate tracks for McCartney as evidence by Etcetera's posting a few months back but the team obviously changed their mind and are holding them back for future use.

    Don't expect any great unreleased songs on these sets. This is the chance to remaster his albums, gather up all the b-sides and single mixes, etc… and include a few 'bonus' stuff for the hard core fans. The real unreleased treats are still yet to come…

    …and trust me, they will come.

Leave a Reply