Mixing details

Boxed set of both albums

From the descriptions of the CD editions.

These landmark compilations have introduced generations of fans to the incredible history of the most storied band in music. For its 50th anniversary, the collections have been expanded: ‘Red’ has 12 additional tracks added chronologically, including for the first time some of George Harrison’s earliest songs and some classic Beatles versions of R&B and rock ‘n’ roll hits that were so influential on the band. ‘Blue’ has 9 additional tracks including “Blackbird” and “Glass Onion” including the last new Beatles song, “Now And Then”.

Together the 4CD’s contain 75 tracks, 36 of which have new mixes for 2023. The booklet contains new sleeve notes by journalist and author John Harris. For current fans and future generations alike, the new 1962 – 1966 & 1967 – 1970 collections are a joyous celebration of The Beatles’ timeless musical legacy.

1962-1966 + 1967-1970 (2023 EDITIONS) 4CD SLIPCASED SET
(1962-1966: CDs 1 & 2 / 1967-1970: CDs 3 & 4)
(stereo / all 75 tracks as listed)

= newly added track
1: Love Me Do (2023 Mix)
2: Please Please Me (2023 Mix)
3: I Saw Her Standing There (2023 Mix) *
4: Twist And Shout (2023 Mix) *
5: From Me To You (2023 Mix)
6: She Loves You (2023 Mix)
7: I Want To Hold Your Hand (2023 Mix)
8: This Boy (2023 Mix) *
9: All My Loving (2023 Mix)
10: Roll Over Beethoven (2023 Mix) *
11: You Really Got A Hold On Me (2023 Mix) *
12: Can’t Buy Me Love (2023 Mix)
13: You Can’t Do That (2023 Mix) *
14: A Hard Day’s Night (2023 Mix)
15: And I Love Her (2023 Mix)
16: Eight Days A Week (2023 Mix)
17: I Feel Fine (2023 Mix)
18: Ticket To Ride (2023 Mix)
19: Yesterday (2023 Mix)

1: Help! (2023 Mix)
2: You’ve Got To Hide Your Love Away (2023 Mix)
3: We Can Work It Out (2023 Mix)
4: Day Tripper (2023 Mix)
5: Drive My Car (2023 Mix)
6 Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown) (2023 Mix)
7: Nowhere Man (2023 Mix)
8: Michelle (2023 Mix)
9: In My Life (2023 Mix)
10: If I Needed Someone (2023 Mix) *
11: Girl (2023 Mix)
12: Paperback Writer (2022 Mix)
13: Eleanor Rigby (2022 Mix)
14: Yellow Submarine (2022 Mix)
15: Taxman (2022 Mix) *
16: Got To Get You Into My Life (2022 Mix) *
17: I’m Only Sleeping (2022 Mix) *
18: Here, There And Everywhere (2022 Mix) *
19: Tomorrow Never Knows (2022 Mix) *
1967-1970 (2023 EDITION)
(2CD: stereo / Digital + Streaming: stereo & Dolby Atmos)

= newly added track
1: Strawberry Fields Forever (2015 Stereo Mix / 2023 Dolby Atmos Mix)
2: Penny Lane (2017 Mix)
3: Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band (2017 Mix)
4: With A Little Help From My Friends (2017 Mix)
5: Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds (2017 Mix)
6: Within You Without You (2017 Mix) *
7: A Day In The Life (2017 Mix)
8: All You Need Is Love (2015 Stereo Mix / 2023 Dolby Atmos Mix)
9: I Am The Walrus (2023 Mix)
10: Hello, Goodbye (2015 Stereo Mix / 2023 Dolby Atmos Mix)
11: The Fool On The Hill (2023 Mix)
12: Magical Mystery Tour (2023 Mix)
13: Lady Madonna (2015 Stereo Mix / 2023 Dolby Atmos Mix)
14: Hey Jude (2015 Stereo Mix / 2023 Dolby Atmos Mix)
15: Revolution (2023 Mix)

1: Back In The U.S.S.R. (2018 Mix)
2: Dear Prudence (2018 Mix) *
3: While My Guitar Gently Weeps (2018 Mix)
4: Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da (2018 Mix)
5: Glass Onion (2018 Mix) *
6: Blackbird (2018 Mix) *
7: Hey Bulldog (2023 Mix) *
8: Get Back (2015 Stereo Mix / 2023 Dolby Atmos Mix)
9: Don’t Let Me Down (2021 Mix)
10: The Ballad Of John And Yoko (2015 Stereo Mix / 2023 Dolby Atmos Mix)
11: Old Brown Shoe (2023 Mix)
12: Here Comes The Sun (2019 Mix)
13: Come Together (2019 Mix)
14: Something (2019 Mix)
15: Octopus’s Garden (2019 Mix)
16: Oh! Darling (2019 Mix) *
17: I Want You (She’s So Heavy) (2019 Mix) *
18: Let It Be (2021 Mix)
19: Across The Universe (2021 Mix)
20: I Me Mine (2021 Mix) *
21: The Long And Winding Road (2021 Mix)
22: Now And Then *

16 Responses

  1. Krist Delgado says:

    Yeah!! Yeah!!! Yeah!!! Thanks to Paul, Sean, Yoko, Olivia, Dhani and Ringo!!!

  2. Blakey says:

    If it’s definitive, it should have ‘Rain’.

  3. joseph Maffei says:

    They should have put Long Tall Sally instead of You Really Have a Hold of Me.

    • Eric Michael Lethbridge-Shade says:

      I agree, I Want You (She’s So Heavy) is an odd choice as well. Needs Rain and She’s a Woman.

  4. voxstarstream says:

    “Revolution 1” or “Happiness Is a Warm Gun” would have been better choices than “Glass Onion”

  5. angel says:

    what is the song referred here : “including for the first time some of George Harrison’s earliest songs”

    • Ian Beaumont says:

      I presume they mean Roll Over Beethoven, though that’s a cover version of course, If I Needed Someone and Taxman. George has got five new tracks which he sang and/or wrote on the new versions of the albums, out of 21 new songs. I agree re Rain and She’s A Woman; and it’s odd that Free As A Bird and Real Love aren’t included either.

  6. Blakey says:

    In a few decades time, when the Beatles catalogue has been remixed/demixed/any other sort of mixed for the umpteenth time. Apple/UMG will most likely dig out the 1987 or 2009 mixes, and market them as ‘The Beatles as we were meant to hear them.’

    • Krist Delgado says:

      Remember the John Lennon’s “remixed and remastered” albums from 2000 to 2005??? Those were great but in 2010 were remastered once again as “John’s original audio mix”… Sold as the signature box set or individually.

      • admin says:

        And lately, they are remixed once again, now in the so-called “ultimate mixes”. Ultimate mixes of “John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band” and “Imagine” have been released so far, plus the compilation album “Gimme Some Truth”. They skipped “Some Time in New York City” (because of the N word?), but are back on track with “Mind Games” to be released in the summer of 2024.

  7. James P says:

    Fans can be as cynical as they like about constant remixing, but yesterday I listened to the remix of the Ringo version of Love Me Do at high volume with my headphones on, and then compared it to the Past Masters version and the 2009 (fake) stereo on PPM, and 2015 mono remaster for the 1+ project. It is light and day. Vastly better. And let us not forget that this latest version was taken from a needle drop. Let that sink in.

    So my view is that the first four albums could now be created in genuine, true stereo by separating all the voices and instruments from the twin track masters and properly remixed. This is potentially very exciting.

  8. James Peet says:

    I love the “new” Ringo version of Love Me Do. I think it’s still slightly inferior to the Andy White version. I don’t mean this as a criticism of Ringo, the band themselves don’t seem confident (understandable, given the very early stage of their recording career, and Paul being made to sing Love Me Do, with John having to play the harp part. IIFC, George Martin told him that, “you’re going to have a song called Love Me Waah!”

    I had hoped that we’d get the Andy White version on the Red album, but it’s been replaced by Ringo’s version. It makes sense, I suppose, making sure that it’s all of the Beatles on the song. Hopefully we’ll get the Andy White version on a super-duper-deluxe Please Please Me. Hopefully I’ll still be alive to hear it!

  9. Kevin says:

    Is it just me, or does this new remix of “I Am the Walrus” just sound… strange? Not what I was expecting. I don’t think I like it as well as the original. Stuff is buried or missing, and what’s that odd fade out before “Sitting in an English garden waiting for the sun”?

    • Krist Delgado says:

      Clearly an alternative remix with some never heard before elements. But the version from the “Love” album is better…

Leave a Reply